Wednesday, January 6, 2021

Inaugural Critics Choice Super Awards will air on CW Sunday evening

The Critics Choice Association (CCA) announced today the lineup of talent that will join hosts Kevin Smith and Dani Fernandez at Sunday night's inaugural Critics Choice Super Awards, helping them to honor the most popular, fan-obsessed genres across both television and movies, including Superhero/Comic Book, Science Fiction/Fantasy, Horror, Action and Animation.

Celebs Shohreh Aghdashloo, Aya Cash, Madelyn Cline, Mike Colter, Colman Domingo, Tom Ellis, Courtney Ford, Tiffany Haddish, Sam Heughan, Maddison Jaizani, Lennie James, Martin Kove, Javicia Leslie, Leah Lewis, Caity Lotz, Ralph Macchio, Kennedy McMann, Elizabeth Mitchell, Lindsey Morgan, Bob Morley, Genevieve Padalecki, Jared Padalecki, Brandon Routh, Chase Stokes, Eliza Taylor, Gina Torres, Alan Tudyk, and William Zabka all will present on the 8-10 p.m. CW Network awards telecast that streams the next day free on The CW App and 

“We know that the Super Awards are in the best hands with Kevin Smith and Dani Fernandez at the helm," said Critics Choice Association CEO Joey Berlin."They bring with them an unparalleled enthusiasm for these sometimes underappreciated genres that we know fans and viewers will love."  

The Critics Choice Association will also present the Legacy Award to the “Star Trek” franchise, recognizing the cultural impact it has had across multiple decades while continuing to appeal to and grow its loyal fanbase with new stories and characters. “Star Trek” icon Patrick Stewart, and “Star Trek: Discovery” trailblazer Sonequa Martin-Green will personally accept this special honor, which comes as the franchise celebrates its 55th anniversary.  

Hulu and NEON’s “Palm Springs” leads this year’s film nominees, with a total of five, including Best Science Fiction/Fantasy Movie. Several films followed close behind with four nominations including “Birds of Prey” (Warner Bros.), “Freaky” (Universal), “Onward” (Disney+), “Sonic the Hedgehog” (Paramount), “The Hunt” (Universal), “The Old Guard” (Netflix), and “The Willoughbys” (Netflix).  

“Lovecraft Country” (HBO) received the most television nominations, with a total of six possible wins, including Best Horror Series. Amazon’s “The Boys” received five nominations, including Best Superhero/Comic Book Series.   

For the full list of nominees, and additional information, visit: .

No comments: