Sunday, November 11, 2018

'Won't You Be My Neighbor' named year's best doc by BFCA group

Legendary Fred Rogers dominates "Won't You Be My Neighor?"
The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) announced the winners of the third annual "Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards" last night at a gala event, hosted by Bill Nye at BRIC in Brooklyn.
Won’t You Be My Neighbor? took home the evening’s most prestigious award for Best Documentary, as well as Best Director for Morgan Neville and the award for Best Editing.
Free Solo also collected three awards: Best Sports Documentary, Best Innovative Documentary and Best Cinematography.
Host Nye led the celebration of this year’s honorees for Most Compelling Living Subject of a Documentary  — Scotty Bowers (Scotty and the Secret History of Hollywood), Ruth Bader Ginsburg (RBG), Alex Honnold (Free Solo), Joan Jett (Bad Reputation), Quincy Jones (Quincy), David Kellman and Bobby Shafran (Three Identical Strangers), John McEnroe (John McEnroe: In the Realm of Perfection) and Leon Vitali (Filmworker).
“As the documentary world is exploding with great works, we are thrilled to shine a light on the best of the best,” said BFCA President Joey Berlin. “In the year of the documentary, this was a very special night, celebrating the giants in our business and some amazing newcomers.”
During the awards show, filmmaker Michael Moore was honored with the Critics’ Choice Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Robert De Niro. Renowned documentarian Stanley Nelson was honored with the Critics’ Choice Impact Award, presented by Joe Berlinger, who received the same honor last year.
Presenters and attendees at the gala event included Rashida Jones, Pamela Adlon, Matt Dillon, Natasha Lyonne, Steve James, D.A. Pennebaker, Chris Hegedus, Chai Vasarhelyi and Jimmy Chin, Bing Liu, and Morgan Neville.
This year, the Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards also introduced the Catalyst Sponsorship, a program for industry leaders to support the event. The inaugural sponsors included Focus Features, National Geographic Documentary Films, Netflix, CNN FIlms, and CuriosityStream.
The eligibility period for the third annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards runs from Jan. 1, 2018, and includes any film or television program scheduled to premiere on or before Dec. 31, 2018.
The Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards are determined by qualified members of the BFCA, the largest film critics organization in the U.S. and Canada, and BTJA and feature multiple categories across both television and film.
Next up for the groups is The Critics’ Choice Awards, bestowed annually by BFCA and BTJA to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement and, historically, the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.
The CW will partner with the critics as the exclusive home to The 24th Annual Critics’ Choice Awards, a three-hour ceremony on The CW on Sunday, Jan. 13, 2019. For more information, visit:
Best Documentary: Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
Best Limited Documentary Series: The Zen Diaries of Garry Shandling
Best Ongoing Documentary Series: Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown
Best Director: Morgan Neville for Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
Best First Time Director: TIE: Bing Liu for Minding the Gap, and Cristina Costantini and Darren Foster for Science Fair
Best Political Documentary: RBG
Best Sports Documentary: Free Solo
Best Music Documentary: Quincy
Most Innovative Documentary: Free Solo
Best Cinematography: Free Solo
Best Editing: Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

No comments: