Thursday, November 2, 2017

'Jane' named 'Best' at second Critics' Choice Doc Awards

BROOKLYN, NY – The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) announced the winners of the second annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards this evening at a gala event, hosted by Penn Jillette at BRIC here.

"Jane," the National Geographic-produced portrait of legendary, world-class primatologist Jane Goodall, took home the evening’s most prestigious award for Best Documentary. Best Director honors were split between Evgeny Afineevsky ("Cries from Syria") and Frederick Wiseman ("Ex Libris: The New York Public Library)." a 197-minute epic.

The early years in the life of Jane Goodall are explored in "Jane."
“We are so happy to be able to celebrate the supremely talented, leading voices in this golden age of documentary filmmaking and nonfiction television,” said BFCA President Joey Berlin. “It was another great night in Brooklyn in support of many of the most underappreciated artists in our business.”

Other top awards went to "Kedi," the wild cats in Turkey piece, and director Bulen Usten for Best First Documentary; "Abacus: Small Enough to Jail," Best Political Documentary; "Icarus," Best Sports Documentary; and "Clive Davis: The Soundtrack of Our Lives," Best Music Documentary.

Another voting tie resulted in the Most Innovative Documentary category, which was shared by "Dawson City: Frozen Time" and "Last Men in Aleppo."

During this year’s celebration, filmmaker Joe Berlinger also was honored with the Critics’ Choice Impact Award, while Errol Morris was awarded the Critics’ Choice Lifetime Achievement Award.

Presenters and attendees at the gala event included Clive Davis, Damien Echols, Gilbert Gottfried, Colin Hanks, Dolores Huerta, Barbara Kopple, Lawrence O’Donnell, Linda Perry, Kathryn Schulz, Fisher Stevens, Hannah Storm, and Diane Warren.

Other winners included:

Best Song in a Documentary -- “Jump” from "Step," written by Raphael Saadiq, Taura Stinson and Laura Karpman, performed by Cynthia Erivo; Best Documentary Series --  "The Vietnam War," PBS, and Best Ongoing Documentary Series -- "American Masters," PBS.

Finally, Jillette led the revelry for this year’s honorees for Most Compelling Living Subject of a Documentary -- The Cats of Istanbul (from "Kedi"), Etty Ausch ("One of Us"), Al Gore ("An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power"), Laird Hamilton ("Take Every Wave: The Life of Laird Hamilton"), Dolores Huerta ("Dolores"), Gigi Lazzarato ("This is Everything: Gigi Gorgeous"), and The Sung Family ("Abacus: Small Enough to Jail").

No comments: