Tuesday, December 22, 2015

'The Force Awakens' gets late nod for BFCA best picture

Daisy Ridley as the heroic Rey
The Broadcast Film Critics Association today announced that “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” has earned a Critics’ Choice Award nomination for Best Picture.  Winners will be revealed at the 21st annual Critics’ Choice Awards show on Jan. 17. It will be televised  live at 8 p.m. on A&E, Lifetime and LMN and hosted by T.J. Miller.  

The film was not screened for BFCA voters in time for the initial nominations balloting but, after members of the nation’s largest film critics group saw “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” last week, it was decided to hold a special referendum yesterday to determine if it would have been nominated if the BFCA membership had been able to consider it.
Harrison Ford as Han Solo -- again.

The exception was made for only the Best Picture
category. All other Critics’ Choice Award nominations remain as previously announced.

While making an amendment to the Critics’ Choice Awards nominations is highly unusual, having an 11th Best Picture nominee is not unprecedented. In 2000, “Cast Away” was similarly screened too late for normal consideration and the BFCA included it among 11 Best Picture nominees.

It is the purpose of the Critics’ Choice Awards to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement.  Making this exception to our rules serves this purpose. Historically, the “Critics' Choice Awards” are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.

Click here to read John M. Urbancich's review of the film.

No comments: